Ministerial role

Leader of the House of Commons


The Leader of the House of Commons organises government business in the House of Commons and works closely with the government’s Chief Whip.

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Andrea Leadsom MP

Andrea Leadsom was appointed Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons on 11 June 2017. She was elected as Conservative MP for South Northamptonshire in 2010.


After attending Tonbridge Girls Grammar School in Kent, Andrea went on to read political science at Warwick University.

Political career

Andrea served on the Treasury Select Committee from July 2010 until May 2014 and on the Public Accounts Committee from May 2014 until March 2015. She then served as Economic Secretary to the Treasury from April 2014 until May 2015 and Minister of State at the Department of Energy and Climate Change from May 2015 until July 2016. Andrea also served as Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs from July 2016 until June 2017.

Career outside politics

Andrea worked in the banking and finance industry for 25 years, most recently as Head of Corporate Governance and Senior Investment Officer at Invesco Perpetual, one of the UK’s largest retail fund managers.

Personal life

Andrea is married to Ben and has three children.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon David Lidington MP

    • 2016 to 2017
  2. The Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP

    • 2015 to 2016
  3. The Rt Hon William Hague

    • 2014 to 2015


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. A Statement on the Independent Complaints and Grievance Policy

    • Statement to Parliament
  2. Leader of the Commons addresses Institute for Government

    • Speech
  3. Westminster welcomes Welsh language at the Welsh grand committee

    • News story
  4. MPs to debate proposals for fair votes for English laws

    • Press release
  5. New Parliament conference: Chris Grayling speech

    • Speech
  6. Funding announced for veterans to attend VE Day 70 Commemorations

    • Press release
  7. Victory in Europe (VE) Day celebrations

    • Press release
  8. Global Summit to End Sexual Violence in Conflict Report published

    • Press release
  9. Cabinet Committee for devolved powers: statement on first meeting

    • Press release
  10. Hague and Jolie welcome DRC Army Action Plan on Sexual Violence

    • Press release