Early day motion 722

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the enormous contribution to Britain of the former Hong Kong Armed Forces from 1857 until 1997; believes that those remaining soldiers of the Hong Kong Military Service Corps and the Hong Kong Royal Naval Service who did not receive a UK passport following the handover of Hong Kong to China should now be offered that choice; notes that not more than some 500 soldiers were given a UK passport in 1997 under the then passport selection scheme; further notes that the remainder of the military Corps and some 100 Royal Naval servicemen were left behind; acknowledges that these men and their ancestors have served British commitments in south-east Asia greatly, stood shoulder to shoulder with Britain through two World Wars as well as alongside Britain in France, Burma, Korea, Malaya, Singapore, Hong Kong, China and the United Nations for King, Queen and country; and calls on the Government to recognise that the decision not to have asked each serviceman freely to transfer their nationality from British-Hong Kong to Hong Kong-Chinese was unjust and an error that should now be rectified.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 66

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 66 out of 66

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ahmed-Sheikh, Tasmina Scottish National Party Ochil and South Perthshire 11.02.2016
Arkless, Richard Scottish National Party Dumfries and Galloway 09.02.2016
Black, Mhairi Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire South 09.02.2016
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 25.11.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 18.11.2015
Bridgen, Andrew Conservative Party North West Leicestershire 22.02.2016
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 04.02.2016
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.01.2016
Cash, William Conservative Party Stone 13.01.2016
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 21.01.2016
Cruddas, Jon Labour Party Dagenham and Rainham 21.03.2016
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 12.01.2016
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 25.01.2016
Day, Martyn Scottish National Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 19.11.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 25.11.2015
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 19.11.2015
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 06.01.2016
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 11.01.2016
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 01.03.2016
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 07.01.2016
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 14.04.2016
Ferrier, Margaret Scottish National Party Rutherglen and Hamilton West 06.01.2016
Flello, Robert Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent South 10.02.2016
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 05.01.2016
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 24.03.2016
Gibson, Patricia Scottish National Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.01.2016
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 26.11.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.01.2016
Grady, Patrick Scottish National Party Glasgow North 22.02.2016
Gray, Neil Scottish National Party Airdrie and Shotts 24.11.2015
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 18.01.2016
Hendry, Drew Scottish National Party Inverness Nairn Badenoch and Strathspey 21.01.2016
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.01.2016
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 12.01.2016
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 20.11.2015
Kinahan, Danny Ulster Unionist Party South Antrim 23.11.2015
Law, Chris Scottish National Party Dundee West 24.11.2015
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 18.11.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.01.2016
Mann, Scott Conservative Party North Cornwall 10.02.2016
McCabe, Steve Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 12.01.2016
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 25.11.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 19.11.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 05.01.2016
Monaghan, Paul Scottish National Party Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 19.11.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 06.01.2016
Newlands, Gavin Scottish National Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 27.01.2016
Oswald, Kirsten Scottish National Party East Renfrewshire 29.01.2016
Paterson, Steven Scottish National Party Stirling 13.01.2016
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 20.01.2016
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 30.11.2015
Robinson, Gavin Democratic Unionist Party Belfast East 23.11.2015
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 18.11.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 19.11.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 24.02.2016
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 29.01.2016
Sheppard, Tommy Scottish National Party Edinburgh East 11.01.2016
Stephens, Christopher Scottish National Party Glasgow South West 25.11.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 05.01.2016
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 05.01.2016
Thompson, Owen Scottish National Party Midlothian 22.02.2016
Umunna, Chuka Labour Party Streatham 11.04.2016
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 01.03.2016
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.01.2016
Wilson, Corri Scottish National Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 05.01.2016
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 07.01.2016