Early day motion 2694

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that in Belarus all theatre and art managers are appointed by the Ministry of Culture and approved by the head of state; understands that the Belarus Free Theatre is an underground theatre group that began in March 2005 as an artistic means of resisting Belarusian pressure and censorship; further notes that rehearsals and performances are normally held secretly in small private apartments due to the need for security and the risk of persecution; is appalled that audience members have been arrested, actors have been subject to death threats and intimidation and that company founders Nikolai Khalezin and Natalia Koliada have been arrested many times and imprisoned for organising and participating in civil resistance rallies; believes that the International Ice Hockey Federation plans to hold the 2014 Ice Hockey World Championships in Belarus; supports the campaign by human rights groups such as Free Belarus Now and its founder, Irina Bogdanova and prominent playwright Tom Stoppard amongst others to move the Championships out of Belarus; and calls on the Government to make representations to the Belarusian authorities to free all political prisoners and end the repression of the arts in Belarus.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 13

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 13 out of 13

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 06.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 08.02.2012
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 06.02.2012
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 06.02.2012
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 28.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 06.02.2012
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.02.2012
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 06.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.02.2012
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 08.02.2012
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 08.02.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 07.02.2012