Early day motion 2242

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates ActionAid UK for compiling a database providing a comprehensive overview of the use of tax havens and potential tax avoidance by FTSE 100 companies; notes that all but two of the 100 largest UK companies have located subsidiaries in jurisdictions classed as tax havens; further notes that the most recent HM Revenue and Customs estimate suggests that tax avoidance cost the UK around 5 billion in 2009-10; believes that the extent of this use of offshore financial centres has a negative impact on communities across the UK by reducing the amount of tax that is payable for the provision of public services, whilst laying an increased tax burden on those who do not avoid lawful taxation; is further concerned by the devastating impact of tax avoidance on developing countries which, the OECD asserts, lose more through tax avoidance than they receive in aid; and calls on the Government to continue to act to tighten tax loopholes; and calls on FTSE 100 companies to justify their presence in tax havens.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 26.10.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 10.01.2012
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 18.10.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 18.10.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 19.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.10.2011
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 12.10.2011
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 19.10.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 17.10.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 18.10.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 13.10.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 20.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 12.10.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 17.10.2011
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 17.10.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 19.10.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.10.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 13.10.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 24.10.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 17.10.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.10.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 24.10.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 12.10.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 29.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 13.10.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 17.10.2011
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 12.10.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 07.11.2011
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 24.10.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 12.10.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 18.10.2011
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 19.10.2011
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 18.10.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 18.10.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 18.10.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 19.10.2011