By-elections since 2015 General Election

By-elections since 2015 General Election

This page gives details of UK parliamentary by-elections since the general election that was held on Thursday 7 May 2015.


Reason for by-election

Date of by-election

New Member

Tooting Resignation of Sadiq Khan 09.05.2016 To be announced
Ogmore Resignation of Huw Irranca-Davies 23.03.2016 5 May 2016 Chris Elmore (Labour hold)
Sheffield, Brightside and Hillsborough Death of Harry Harpham 04.02.2016 5 May 2016 Gill Furniss (Labour hold)
Oldham West and Royton Death of Michael Meacher 21.10.2015 3 December 2015 Jim McMahon (Labour hold)

House of Commons Library analysis

The House of Commons Library produces briefing papers to inform MPs and their staff of key issues. The papers contain factual information and a range of opinions on each subject, and aim to be politically impartial.


The UK is currently divided into 650 areas called parliamentary constituencies, each of which is represented by one MP in the House of Commons.

Election timetables

The Electoral Registration and Administration Act 2013 increased the length of Parliamentary election timetables, both for general elections and by-elections.