Education Committee

Supply of teachers inquiry

Inquiry status: open

The deadline for written submissions was midday on Friday 20 November 2015.

Scope of the inquiry

The Committee raised the issue of teacher recruitment and retention in an evidence session with Nicky Morgan, Secretary of State for Education. Following an update from the Secretary of State, the Committee calls for written evidence ahead of a one-off oral session to examine the issue.

Latest evidence

  • 09 Dec 2015 - Supply of teachers - oral evidence | PDF version (PDF377 KB) HC 538 | Published 17 Dec 2015

    Evidence given by Professor John Howson, TeachVac, Martin Thompson, Executive Director, National Association of School-Based Teacher Trainers, Sam Freedman, Executive Director of Programmes, Teach First, James Noble-Rogers, Executive Director, Universities Council for the Education of TeachersRussell Hobby, General Secretary, NAHT, Kevin Courtney, Deputy General Secretary, National Union of Teachers, Darren Northcott, National Official for Education, NASUWT, Emma Knights, Chief Executive, National Governors' AssociationNick Gibb MP, Minister of State for Schools, Department for Education

    Watch this evidence session

Next meeting(s)

08 June 2016 9:30 am

Oral Evidence Session

Supply of teachers
View details

Dr Jane Courtney, Member of Deans of Education Network, MillionPlus
Charles Tracy, Head of Education, Institute of Physics
Professor Sir John Holman, President-elect, Royal Society of Chemistry
Andy Mitchell, Curriculum Director and Assistant Chief Executive, Design and Technology Association
Dr Robin Bevan, Headteacher, Southend High School for Boys
Mark Parrett, Audit Manager, National Audit Office
Professor Chris Husbands, Vice-Chancellor, Sheffield Hallam University
Jenni French, Programme Manager in the Education Team, Gatsby Charitable Foundation
Joanna Hall, Deputy Director for Schools, Ofsted


The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

Receive RSS updates

Share this page