Government Whips in the House of Lords

Lords Whips have the same constitutional position as departmental ministers. Their role in the House of Lords is different from that of Whips in the Commons, which is predominantly party management.

A Lords Whip has an active role at the despatch box promoting and defending departmental policy which involves:

  • answering questions
  • responding to debates
  • taking through primary and secondary legislation

If the department concerned does not have a departmental minister in the House of Lords, all of that department’s business will fall to a Whip.

House of Lords Government Whips:

Government Chief Whip and Captain of the Gentlemen at Arms
The Rt Hon. the Lord Taylor of Holbeach CBE

Government Deputy Chief Whip and Captain of The Queen's Bodyguard of the
Yeomen of the Guard

Lord Gardiner of Kimble

Whips (Baronesses and Lords in Waiting) 

Lord Ashton of Hyde
Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen 
Baroness Evans of Bowes Park
Viscount Younger of Leckie
The Earl of Courtown
Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth (and a Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Wales Office and at the Department for Energy and Climate Change)

Wednesday 24 February 2016


Estimated Rising Time:
Chamber: 10pm.

Statements: Immediately after Oral Questions Lord Prior of Brampton will repeat an answer to a UQ on the Government’s response to the final report of the independent Mental Health Taskforce; followed by 10 minutes of Q & A.

Today's Lists have been published.