Early day motion 2524

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House disagrees with the principles of regional pay outlined by the Chancellor in his Autumn Statement to bring public sector pay in line with private sector pay; notes that this will have the effect of depressing public sector pay in countries and regions where there is already low private sector pay; further notes that this will once again unfairly hit workers who carry out good public service and are currently undergoing a wage freeze or below inflation pay increases, whose pensions are being renegotiated against their will and who are already subject to cuts that will lead to 710,000 fewer full time equivalentjobs; further notes that this will mean a reduction of disposable income and weakened consumer spending power in countries and regions with a large public sector workforce and a subsequent negative economic impact; further notes that this approach will institutionalise pre-existing imbalances between countries and regions where there is a weak private sector and is contrary to the Government's policy of geographically rebalancing the economy; further notes the introduction of reigonal pay policies under the previous administration in HM Courts Service in England and Wales; and calls for the re-consideration of this policy.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 14.12.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.12.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.12.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 11.01.2012
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 13.12.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.12.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.12.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 20.12.2011
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 20.12.2011
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 10.01.2012
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 15.12.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 20.12.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 08.12.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.12.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.12.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.12.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 12.12.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.12.2011
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 12.12.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.12.2011