Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy - membership

The Commons Members of this Committee were appointed on 30 November 2015. The Lords Members of this Committee were appointed on 3 December 2015.

Member Party
Margaret Beckett (Chair) Labour
Crispin Blunt Conservative
Lord Boateng Labour
Baroness Buscombe Conservative
Lord Clark of Windermere Labour
Baroness Falkner of Margravine Liberal Democrat
Damian Green Conservative
Mr Dominic Grieve Conservative
Lord Hamilton of Epsom Conservative
Sir Gerald Howarth Conservative
Lord Levene of Portsoken Crossbench
Dr Julian Lewis Conservative
Angus Brendan MacNeil Scottish National Party
Lord Mitchell Labour
Dr Andrew Murrison Conservative
Robert Neill Conservative
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbench
Lord Trimble Conservative
Stephen Twigg Labour (Co-op)
Keith Vaz Labour
Lord West of Spithead Labour
Mr Iain Wright Labour

Committee Bulletin

House of Lords Committee Bulletin

The House of Lords Committee Office publishes a daily bulletin detailing current inquiries, upcoming meetings, published reports and contact information.

Commons committee calendar

Advance information about all public committee meetings, publication dates of reports and debates.

Committees at work

Public committee sessions are open to everyone. Find out more information about how to attend these meetings:

First Review of the National Security Strategy 2010

The Committee’s first report “First Review of the National Security Strategy 2010”  introduces the work of Committee, and sets out what the National Security Strategy is, how it was produced, and how the Committee would like to see it developed. It also explains other aspects of Government decision making on national security; what the National Security Adviser does; what the National Security Council does; and how the Committee thinks it could be improved.