Defence Committee - membership

Dr Julian Lewis was elected as Chair of the Defence Committee on Wednesday 17 June 2015.

The remaining members of the Committee were appointed by the House on Monday 6 July 2015.

Member Party
Dr Julian Lewis (Chair) Conservative
Richard Benyon Conservative
Douglas Chapman Scottish National Party
James Gray Conservative
Johnny Mercer Conservative
Mrs Madeleine Moon Labour
Jim Shannon Democratic Unionist Party
Ruth Smeeth Labour
John Spellar Labour
Bob Stewart Conservative
Phil Wilson Labour

Related information

What do Select Committees do?

Much of the work of the House of Commons and the House of Lords takes place in committees, which examine issues in detail, from government policy to proposed new laws.

Guide for witnesses

Detailed guidance for individuals and organisations giving written or oral evidence to Select Committees.