Early day motion 2076

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its concern about the devastating environmental impacts that the proposed La Colosa opencast goldmine in Colombia will have on a region of considerable biodiversity and importance for food production; further expresses concern about potential violations of human rights that often coincide with the presence of such projects; notes that the company in question, AngloGold Ashanti, has a track record of environmental and human rights abuses in Africa; further notes that the same company, despite having a listing on the London Stock Exchange (LSE) and 12 per cent. of its investors from the UK, is not subject to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises; and consequently urges the Government to enforce stricter regulation so that companies listed on the LSE cannot evade accountability.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 14.07.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 13.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.07.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.07.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 13.07.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 18.07.2011
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 13.07.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 18.07.2011
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 11.08.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.07.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.07.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 14.07.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 13.07.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 18.07.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 11.08.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 11.08.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 18.07.2011
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 18.07.2011
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 18.07.2011
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 18.07.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 18.07.2011
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 05.09.2011
Jamieson, Cathy Labour Party Kilmarnock and Loudoun 14.07.2011
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 13.07.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 19.07.2011
McCarthy, Kerry Labour Party Bristol East 20.07.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 19.07.2011
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 18.07.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 14.07.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 14.07.2011
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 18.07.2011
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 20.07.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 11.08.2011
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 14.07.2011
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 13.07.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 14.07.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 05.09.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 19.10.2011