Early day motion 1389

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned that proposals for new fixed-term tenancies for council and housing association tenants, and up to 80 per cent. of market rents for new housing association lettings, combined with cuts in housing benefit rates exclude claimants from high-rent areas in towns, cities and rural areas, will lead to increased rent arrears, evictions and homelessness; is further concerned that while new high rents will drive up housing benefit costs, the proposals will fail to regulate high private rents and not build any of the secure, genuinely-affordable homes for rent needed by the five million on housing waiting lists and others who will be priced out of the unaffordable and insecure private rental and mortgage market; welcomes the Housing Emergency lobby of Parliament on 15 February 2011 demanding that the Government cap rents rather than housing benefit, drop attacks on secure tenancies and proposed means testing of future tenants and stop evictions which will come from cuts in housing benefit; opposes proposals for social rents of up to 80 per cent. market rents; and calls on the Government to build new and improved secure, low rent, accountable council and other housing.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 38

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 38 out of 38

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 17.02.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 01.02.2011
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 01.02.2011
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 08.03.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 09.02.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.02.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 07.02.2011
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.02.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.02.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.02.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 08.02.2011
Dakin, Nic Labour Party Scunthorpe 08.02.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.02.2011
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 10.02.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 02.02.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 02.02.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 03.02.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 27.04.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 02.02.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 16.03.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 04.02.2011
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 03.02.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 04.02.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 10.02.2011
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 08.02.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 17.03.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 07.02.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.02.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 24.05.2011
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 09.05.2011
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 01.02.2011
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 09.02.2011
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 09.02.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 02.02.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 03.02.2011
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 09.02.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 02.02.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 03.03.2011