Leadership Elections: Labour Party

Published Wednesday, September 23, 2015

This note outlines the rules under which leadership elections are conducted by the Labour Party and gives details of previous leadership contests.

Jump to full report >>

Labour Party members elect a leader from candidates who have been nominated by at least 15% of all Labour MPs. Since 2014, each party member gets one vote only, and their votes are of equal weight.

On 8 May 2015, Ed Miliband resigned as party leader, triggering leadership elections. Deputy leader Harriet Harman announced she would resign her position as soon as a new leader and deputy leader have been elected.

On 12 September 2015, Jeremy Corbyn was announced as the new party leader and Tom Watson was announced as the new deputy leader.

The previous leadership contest took place in 2010. Prior to that, Gordon Brown had been elected in 2007 to succeed Tony Blair, who had been party leader since 1994.

The Labour Party has held leadership elections since 1906.

Commons Briefing papers SN03938

Author: Elise Uberoi

Topic: Political parties

Share this page

Stay up to date

  • Subscribe to RSS feed Subscribe to Email alerts Commons Briefing papers

House of Commons Library

The House of Commons Library provides research, analysis and information services for MPs and their staff.