About the Committee

The Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament (ISC) was first established by the Intelligence Services Act 1994 to examine the policy, administration and expenditure of the Security Service, Secret Intelligence Service (SIS), and the Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ). The Justice and Security Act 2013 reformed the ISC: making it a Committee of Parliament; providing greater powers; and increasing its remit (including oversight of operational activity and the wider intelligence and security activities of Government). Other than the three intelligence and security Agencies, the ISC examines the intelligence-related work of the Cabinet Office including: the Joint Intelligence Committee (JIC); the Assessments Staff; and the National Security Secretariat. The Committee also provides oversight of Defence Intelligence in the Ministry of Defence and the Office for Security and Counter-Terrorism in the Home Office.

Members of the ISC are appointed by Parliament and the Committee reports directly to Parliament. The Committee may also make reports to the Prime Minister on matters which are national security sensitive.

The Members are subject to Section 1(1)(b) of the Official Secrets Act 1989 and have access to highly classified material in carrying out their duties. The Committee takes evidence from Cabinet Ministers and senior officials – all of which is used to formulate its reports.

Recent Announcements

The Committee's most recent announcements are displayed below. For earlier announcements, or to see more details/attachments, please select 'News Archive' from the navigation bar.
  • 14 January 2016
    The Chair of the Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament, the Rt. Hon. Dominic Grieve QC MP, has written an open letter to the Chair of the Joint Committee on Human Rights, the Rt. Hon. Harriet Harman QC MP, clarifying the scope of the ISC’s inquiry into intelligence basis for the drone strike which killed Reyaad Khan in Syria on 21 August 2015.
    Posted 18 Jan 2016, 04:47 by ISC Admin
  • 4 November 2015
    Posted 4 Nov 2015, 06:22 by ISC Admin
  • 29 October 2015
    The Committee has today set out its work priorities for the coming months. Please see the Committee's statement for more details.
    Posted 29 Oct 2015, 10:50 by ISC Admin
  • 15 September 2015
    The Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament (ISC) has today elected the Rt Hon. Dominic Grieve QC MP as its Chairman. Full details are contained in our press release.
    The full membership of the ISC is therefore as follows:
    The Rt Hon. Dominic Grieve QC MP (Chair)
    The Rt Hon. Sir Alan Duncan MP
    The Rt Hon. George Howarth MP
    The Rt Hon. the Lord Janvrin GCB GCVO
    The Most Hon. the Marquess of Lothian QC PC
    The Rt Hon. Fiona Mactaggart MP
    The Rt Hon. Angus Robertson MP
    The Rt Hon. Keith Simpson MP
    The Rt Hon. Gisela Stuart MP
    Posted 15 Sep 2015, 11:07 by ISC Admin
  • 14 September 2015
    The following motion was agreed in the House of Lords today:

    That this House approves the nomination of Lord Janvrin and the Marquess of Lothian as members of the Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament.

    The full list of ISC members now available here.
    Posted 16 Sep 2015, 03:55 by ISC Admin
Showing posts 1 - 5 of 55. View more »