House of Commons Commission (External Members)

Published Monday, February 1, 2016

A motion to appoint two external members to the House of Commons Commission is scheduled to be considered on Tuesday 2 February 2016, in the Chamber.

Jump to full report >>

At its meeting on 18 January 2016, the House of Commons Commission agreed a draft motion to go before the House that provided for the appointment of Dame Janet Gaymer DBE QC(Hon.), until 30 September 2018; and Jane McCall, for a period of three years, as the external members of the House of Commons Commission.

The composition of the House of Commons Commission changed as a result of the report of the House of Commons Governance Committee in December 2014, and the subsequent House of Commons Commission Act 2015.  The 2015 Act expanded the size of the Commission from six, all MPs, to 11, seven MPs, two external members and two official (i.e. House staff) members.

Commons Debate packs CDP-2016-0030

Author: Richard Kelly

Topic: House of Commons

Share this page

Stay up to date

House of Commons Library

The House of Commons Library provides research, analysis and information services for MPs and their staff.