Chairs of House of Commons Select Committee: 2010 - present

Published Friday, October 30, 2015

Chairs of House of Commons Select Committees since the 2010 General Election

Jump to full report >>

The Excel spreadsheet lists the chairs of permanent Commons select committees established under Standing Orders (SOs) of the House of Commons for the 2010 and 2015 Parliaments. The full reports shows the chairs for the current 2015 Parliament.

Select committees are cross-party groups of MPs or Lords established by either House for the duration of a Parliament. The work of the committees is governed by the SOs; these rules set out their membership, remit and powers and any changes to the rules must be approved by the House. Committees decide upon their own subjects for inquiry within the broad scope of their remit. They seek evidence from people and organisations with an interest in their inquiries and anyone can submit evidence to the inquiry

In the Commons, there are 19 departmental select committees that shadow the work of the Government departments. SO 152 states that:

  • 152.—(1) Select committees shall be appointed to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the principal government departments as set out in paragraph (2) of this order and associated public bodies. Other Commons select committees cover aspects of public policy such as public spending, and the internal administration of the House. 

Membership of select committees reflects party membership of the House as a whole. Since June 2010, chairs of departmental have been elected by secret ballot of the House. Also elected by secret ballot are the chairs of the Environmental Audit, Public Accounts, Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs, Petitions, Procedure, and Standards Committees.

The date the chair was elected or appointed is noted in this table as is the number of MPs on the committee which is determined by the SOs. 

The Commons briefing on Nominations to Select Committees outlines the background to various proposals that have been made for changes to the way in which the members of select committees are nominated. Certain committee chairs are entitled to an additional salary of £15,025, details of which are in the Library Note on Select Committees – pay for chairs.

Any comments or corrections to the lists would be gratefully received and should be sent to: Parliamentary Information Lists Editor, Parliament & Constitution Centre, House of Commons, London SW1A OAA.


Commons Briefing papers SN04400

Author: Sarah Priddy

Topics: House of Commons, Members of Parliament

Share this page

Stay up to date

  • Subscribe to RSS feed Subscribe to Email alerts Commons Briefing papers

House of Commons Library

The House of Commons Library provides research, analysis and information services for MPs and their staff.