Parliamentary constituencies

UK Parliamentary constituencies

The United Kingdom is currently divided into 650 parliamentary constituencies, each of which is represented by one Member of Parliament (MP) in the House of Commons.

There are currently:

  • 533 constituencies in England
  • 59 in Scotland
  • 40 in Wales, and
  • 18 in Northern Ireland.

The typical size of constituencies differs between parts of the UK. The Office for National Statistics gives the median total parliamentary electorate across constituencies of about 72,400 in England, 69,000 in Scotland, 66,800 in Northern Ireland and 56,800 in Wales.

The largest constituency is Ross, Skye and Lochaber, measuring approximately 12,000 square kilometres.

The smallest constituency is Islington North, measuring 7.35 square kilometres.

Locating your constituency

Services that enable you to map postcodes against constituency areas are available from the Office for National Statistics and the Ordnance Survey.

Boundary reviews

Constituency boundaries are kept under review by four permanent Boundary Commissions:

The Commissions make reports at regular intervals, usually every 5 years, recommending any necessary changes due to population change or changes in local government boundaries.

Any changes must be agreed by both Houses of Parliament.

The Commons Library have produced a range of tools which allow you to look at statistics on UK parliamentary constituencies. You will be able to compare constituencies and examine how they have changed over time.

Commons Library briefings

The House of Commons Library produces briefing papers to inform MPs and their staff of key issues. The papers contain factual information and a range of opinions on each subject, and aim to be politically impartial.

The Library has published papers on the Fifth and Sixth Periodical Reviews of Parliamentary Constituency Boundaries.

MPs on the Political and Constitutional Reform Select Committee have carried out an inquiry on the redrawing of parliamentary constituency boundaries.

Find out more about the inquiry:

You can find out what constituency you are in, and the Member of Parliament who represents that constituency, by using the Find your MP service.

Image: iStock


Dissolution is the official term for the end of a Parliament.

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Monday 30 March 2015.

2015 election timetable

The general election took place on Thursday 7 May 2015. Read the timetable for what is expected to happen, from the end of the current Parliament through to polling day and beyond.