Early day motion 2764

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the diminishing number of independent petrol stations as a result of greater competition from bigger fuel suppliers and supermarket petrol stations; further notes the contents of the recent Palmer and Harvey Forecourt Report which indicates that the number of petrol stations in the UK has fallen by 60 per cent. in the last 20 years from 21,000 to 8,500; further notes with concern the particular effect thisis having on rural communities who find that their local petrol stations are closing down at an alarming rate; further notes the role that small, independent petrol stations often play in the wider community such as providing a local shop and/or post office; and calls on the Government to assist smaller petrol stations to stay in business in order that they can service our rural communities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 27

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 27 out of 27

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 27.02.2012
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 29.02.2012
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.02.2012
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 28.02.2012
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 15.03.2012
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 29.02.2012
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.02.2012
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 27.02.2012
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.03.2012
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 01.03.2012
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.02.2012
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 01.03.2012
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 27.02.2012
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 28.02.2012
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 29.02.2012
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.02.2012
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.02.2012
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 05.03.2012
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 29.02.2012
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 01.03.2012
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 28.02.2012
Rogerson, Dan Liberal Democrats North Cornwall 29.02.2012
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 28.02.2012
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 27.02.2012
Vickers, Martin Conservative Party Cleethorpes 05.03.2012
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 23.02.2012
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 23.02.2012