Early day motion 670


Main content

Total number of signatures: 71

Abbott, Diane Amess, David Anderson, David Bayley, Hugh
Begg, Anne Blears, Hazel Blunt, Crispin Bottomley, Peter
Campbell, Menzies Campbell, Ronnie Champion, Sarah Connarty, Michael
Corbyn, Jeremy Crausby, David Cunningham, Alex David, Wayne
Davies, Philip Doran, Frank Dowd, Jim Durkan, Mark
Evans, Nigel Fitzpatrick, Jim Gapes, Mike George, Andrew
Godsiff, Roger Hamilton, Fabian Hancock, Mike Hermon, Lady
Heyes, David Hood, Jim Hopkins, Kelvin Hunter, Mark
Huppert, Julian Jackson, Glenda Kaufman, Gerald Lavery, Ian
Leech, John Lewis, Julian Long, Naomi Love, Andrew
Lucas, Caroline McDonnell, Alasdair McDonnell, John McInnes, Liz
McKechin, Ann McKenzie, Iain Meacher, Michael Meale, Alan
Mitchell, Austin Morrice, Graeme Morris, Grahame M O'Donnell, Fiona
Osborne, Sandra Ritchie, Margaret Rotheram, Steve Ruane, Chris
Ruddock, Joan Russell, Bob Shannon, Jim Sharma, Virendra
Stringer, Graham Stunell, Andrew Thurso, John Vaz, Keith
Vaz, Valerie Ward, David Weir, Mike Williams, Hywel
Williams, Roger Williamson, Chris Winnick, David

That this House expresses its heartfelt sympathy to the families of those journalists, police and others who were assassinated or injured at the offices of the French satirical newspaper Charlie Hebdo on 7 January 2015; notes that this attack took place on press day, thereby increasing the casualty list and the potential damage to press freedom; considers that the perpetrators of this heinous crime must swiftly be brought to justice; further notes the bravery of individuals who work in this field despite many of them coming under attack previously, and that in carrying out their jobs they uphold the invaluable and historical right to free speech and freedom of expression which are both integral elements of democracies; acknowledges the solidarity that is being shown around the world on behalf of the victims and their colleagues in standing together in defence of civil liberties at this time; and offers its support to the NUJ in the UK and the International Federation of Journalists for their work in defending the rights of all journalists to do their job without fear of threats, intimidation and brutal murder.