Early day motion 544

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns the human rights abuses perpetuated by the government of Eritrea, including arbitrary arrest and detention and compulsory military service imposed on all able-bodied men, women and even children, which has led to an unprecedented exodus of Eritreans, now reaching 5,000 a month, fleeing their country as refugees to Europe on a precarious journey, including the recent tragedy at Lampedusa, which is costing hundred of lives; notes with concern the collusion between the government of Eritrea and the international mining companies from the UK, Canada and Australia, which is using the forced labour of Eritreans for work in extractive industries in conditions which have been described as abject slavery by Human Rights Watch and other campaigning non-governmental organisations; and calls on the government of Eritrea to honour the international human rights treaties to which it is a party and allow, without further prevarication and delay, a visit from the Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Eritrea in the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 42

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 42 out of 42

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 24.11.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 25.11.2014
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 26.11.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 26.11.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 26.11.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.12.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.11.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 24.11.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 05.12.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 24.11.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 25.11.2014
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 24.11.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 25.11.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.12.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 26.11.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 03.12.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.11.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 24.11.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 25.11.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.12.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 25.11.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 24.11.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.12.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 24.11.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 05.12.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.12.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 26.11.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.01.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 25.11.2014
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 24.11.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 04.12.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 03.12.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 27.11.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 25.11.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 26.11.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 25.11.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 11.12.2014
Teather, Sarah Liberal Democrats Brent Central 24.11.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 25.11.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 26.11.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 24.11.2014
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 24.11.2014