Early day motion 653

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House believes that domestic abuse is a considerable issue for heterosexual, bisexual, lesbian and gay people and in the trans and non-trans community; notes that according to Stonewall's Prescription for Change, published in 2008, one in four lesbian and bisexual women have experienced domestic violence, the same proportion as heterosexual non-trans women, that according to the Stonewall Gay and Bisexual Men's Health Survey 2011, half of gay and bisexual men have experienced some form of domestic abuse and that according to the Scottish Trans Alliance survey, Out of Sight, Out of Mind, published in 2010, 80 per cent of the Scottish trans community have experienced domestic abuse; further notes that the Government, local councils and the police often fail to direct sufficient focus and address the needs of this diverse population of survivors, there being hardly any specialist refuge provision for the lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans-gender (LGBT) population in the UK, with women's refuges insufficiently developed to accommodate, assess risks or identify the needs of GBT survivors; and resolves that, as part of a broader programme to improve provision for all domestic abuse survivors, the Government should give consideration to the needs of LGBT survivors by improving guidance to local housing authorities to highlight LGBT-specific services and needs, expanding the provision of emergency accommodation to address the unique needs of LGBT survivors and committing ring-fenced funding for LGBT refuges, as the Home Office has already done with respect to women's refuges.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 22

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 22 out of 22

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 18.12.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 12.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.01.2015
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 18.12.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 05.01.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.01.2015
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 18.12.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 07.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.01.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 05.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 18.12.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.01.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 18.12.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 06.01.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 09.01.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 06.01.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 08.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 12.01.2015