Early day motion 349

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is shocked to note that the National Audit Office reported earlier in 2014 that up to 220,000 care workers in England are illegally paid below the national minimum wage (NMW); further notes that an investigation by HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) of care providers between 2011 and 2013 found that 48 per cent were guilty of non-compliance with the NMW; further notes that homecare workers in particular are consistently not paid for travel time or training, too often have illegal deductions made from their pay and are frequently put on zero-hours contracts to deny them their legal rights; recognises that these arrangements have a deleterious impact on quality of care through high turnover of staff and shortened care visits; calls for a statement from the Government on what measures it is proposing to tackle the illegal under-payment of homecare workers; strenuously suggests that HMRC launch a programme of proactive investigations into the sector to help end non-compliance with the NMW, with adequate resources to ensure a thorough and sustained effort; requests that the Government names and shames care providers and councils who fail to pay or commission the NMW as well as name and praise those care providers and councils who have signed up to UNISON's Ethical Care Charter; and further calls for a change in the law to make local authorities and care providers jointly and severally liable for non-payment of the NMW as well as the introduction of stringent regulations under the Care Act 2014 to ensure that care workers are paid at least the national minimum wage.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 104

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 104 out of 104

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 10.11.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 14.10.2014
Bailey, Adrian Labour Party West Bromwich West 24.11.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.10.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 19.11.2014
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 27.10.2014
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 04.11.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 18.11.2014
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 23.10.2014
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 28.10.2014
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 30.10.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 14.10.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 15.10.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 17.11.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 27.10.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 05.11.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.11.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.10.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 21.10.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 19.11.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 17.10.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 22.10.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 29.10.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 10.11.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 17.11.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 24.11.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 23.10.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 14.10.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 17.11.2014
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 22.10.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 22.10.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 14.10.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.11.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 27.10.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 20.11.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 11.11.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 10.11.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.10.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.10.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 15.10.2014
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 24.10.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 27.10.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 03.11.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 20.10.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.10.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 27.10.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 14.10.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 18.11.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 14.10.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 22.10.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 10.11.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 20.10.2014
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 27.10.2014
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 06.11.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 23.10.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 19.11.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 30.10.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 14.10.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 30.10.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 30.10.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 20.11.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 27.10.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 22.10.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 14.10.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 22.10.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 30.10.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.10.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 22.10.2014
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 21.10.2014
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 19.11.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 14.10.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 13.01.2015
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 28.10.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 21.11.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 17.11.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 27.10.2014
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 27.10.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 21.10.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 20.11.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 26.11.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 22.10.2014
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 25.11.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 16.10.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 25.11.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 17.11.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 17.11.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 15.10.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 27.10.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 23.10.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 16.10.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 27.11.2014
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 04.11.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 30.10.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.10.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 23.10.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 21.10.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 22.10.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 22.10.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 30.10.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 28.10.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 22.10.2014
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 29.10.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 01.12.2014
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 23.10.2014