Early day motion 1158

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports the principle that the counting of votes following the 2010 general election should take place immediately after the close of polls, recognising that in some remote areas the commencement of the count may be delayed for several hours; is disappointed that in Harrogate and Knaresborough where all ballot boxes can be returned to a central counting area within an hour of the closing of the polls a decision has been taken to delay the count until the next day; believes that election night remains one of the remaining opportunities for mass engagement with the political system; supports the view of the Speaker of the House of Commons that it is important to democracy that counting is not delayed and we have `instant and not slow motion democracy'; was pleased that there was cross-party support for an amendment to the Constitutional Reform and Governance Bill 2009 to require councils to arrange counts within four hours of the closure of the polls; and calls on Harrogate Borough Council to re-consider its ill-advised decision to break with decades of tradition and agree to hold the 2010 general election count immediately after the polls close.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 24

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 24 out of 24

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Clapham, Michael Labour Party Barnsley West and Penistone 06.04.2010
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 29.03.2010
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 24.03.2010
Cryer, Ann Labour Party Keighley 24.03.2010
Dean, Janet Labour Party Burton 30.03.2010
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 25.03.2010
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 29.03.2010
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 29.03.2010
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.03.2010
Hoyle, Lindsay Labour Party Chorley 24.03.2010
Jenkins, Brian Labour Party Tamworth 30.03.2010
Jones, Lynne Labour Party Birmingham Selly Oak 24.03.2010
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.03.2010
McCafferty, Chris Labour Party Calder Valley 06.04.2010
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 30.03.2010
Purchase, Ken Labour Party Wolverhampton North East 25.03.2010
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 24.03.2010
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 07.04.2010
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Manchester Blackley 24.03.2010
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 06.04.2010
Wareing, Robert N Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 29.03.2010
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 30.03.2010
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 24.03.2010
Willis, Phil Liberal Democrats Harrogate and Knaresborough 23.03.2010