Early day motion 1333

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the peaceful South Sudan independence referendum which took place between 9 January and 15 January 2011; welcomes the fact that the referendum's validity threshold of 60 per cent. of the electorate voting was reached and hopes that, whatever the result, there shall be an end to violence in the region; supports the We Want Peace campaign by international artiste and former south Sudanese child soldier and Lost Boy, Emmanuel Jal, who is a spokesman for the Make Poverty History campaign, the Coalition to Stop the Use of Child Soldiers, the Control Arms campaign, Oxfam and Amnesty International; and believes that music can make a difference and can unite people and that the message of the We Want Peace song has a universal theme to end political violence and suffering across the world.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 20

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 20 out of 20

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 25.01.2011
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 28.02.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 26.01.2011
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 10.02.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 25.01.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 24.01.2011
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 31.01.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 31.01.2011
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 02.02.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 31.01.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 26.01.2011
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 24.01.2011
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.02.2011
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 25.01.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 03.02.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 26.01.2011
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 25.01.2011
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 31.01.2011
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 24.01.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 27.01.2011