Early day motion 1970

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the important contribution made by the Housing Market Renewal (HMR) programme in regenerating deprived communities; notes the 2.2 billion invested and the additional private sector investment attracted under the programme since 2002; welcomes the contribution the programme made to the 12 pathfinder areas covered under the scheme Birmingham/Sandwell, East Lancashire, Hull and East Riding, Manchester/Salford, Merseyside, Newcastle/Gateshead, North Staffordshire, Oldham/Rochdale, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, West Cumbria, and Tees Valley; further welcomes the findings of the report by the Audit Commission published in February 2011 that HMR made a substantial contribution to improving housing and economic circumstances in some of the country's most deprived areas; regrets the Government's decision to close the HMR programme with effect from the end of March 2011 just eight years into its anticipated 15 year programme; expresses grave concern at the sudden termination of the programme and the risk of undermining previous investments; further welcomes the Government's announcement on 9 May 2011 to provide 30 million for five of the HMR pathfinder areas; however believes that this level of funding does not compensate those areas for the loss of the wider Housing Market Renewal programme; further notes that other HMR areas will not receive any funding and many residents could be left stranded in desperate circumstances; and calls on the Government to develop a coherent strategy for renewing the housing market and housing for the most deprived areas of the UK.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 28

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 28 out of 28

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Berger, Luciana Labour Party Liverpool Wavertree 22.06.2011
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 22.06.2011
Blenkinsop, Tom Labour Party Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland 22.06.2011
Burden, Richard Labour Party Birmingham Northfield 06.07.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 23.06.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.06.2011
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 22.06.2011
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 05.07.2011
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 06.09.2011
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 05.07.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 27.06.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 22.06.2011
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 22.06.2011
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 22.06.2011
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 22.06.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 28.06.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 22.06.2011
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.06.2011
Hunt, Tristram Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent Central 27.06.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 29.06.2011
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 06.07.2011
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 05.07.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 22.06.2011
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 22.06.2011
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 22.06.2011
Twigg, Stephen Labour Party Liverpool West Derby 22.06.2011
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 20.10.2011
Wright, Iain Labour Party Hartlepool 22.06.2011