Early day motion 2114

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes research by Crisis showing that 39 per cent. of single homeless people have squatted; acknowledges that conditions in squats are often horrendous; further notes that homeless people who squat are among the most vulnerable in society, with 37 per cent. having mental health problems and 20 per cent. being dependent on alcohol; and calls on the Government to ensure that any reform of the law on squatting does not penalise vulnerable homeless people and to focus on tackling the root cause of the problem by ensuring that no homeless person is forced to squat.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 45

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 45 out of 45

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 20.07.2011
Brake, Tom Liberal Democrats Carshalton and Wallington 30.04.2012
Bruce, Malcolm Liberal Democrats Gordon 27.10.2011
Burt, Lorely Liberal Democrats Solihull 07.09.2011
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.11.2011
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 07.09.2011
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 12.10.2011
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 20.07.2011
Danczuk, Simon Labour Party Rochdale 13.10.2011
Dobbin, Jim Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 12.09.2011
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.10.2011
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 05.09.2011
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.09.2011
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 13.10.2011
Foster, Don Liberal Democrats Bath 05.09.2011
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 11.10.2011
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 10.10.2011
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 06.09.2011
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 11.10.2011
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 10.10.2011
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 14.09.2011
Hancock, Mike Liberal Democrats Portsmouth South 11.08.2011
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 07.09.2011
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 07.09.2011
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 08.09.2011
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.09.2011
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 01.11.2011
Lloyd, Tony Labour Party Manchester Central 05.09.2011
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 13.09.2011
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 06.09.2011
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.09.2011
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.09.2011
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 21.11.2011
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 12.09.2011
Munt, Tessa Liberal Democrats Wells Somerset 18.10.2011
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 13.09.2011
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 20.07.2011
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.11.2011
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 15.09.2011
Swinson, Jo Liberal Democrats East Dunbartonshire 20.10.2011
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 07.09.2011
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 07.11.2011
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 10.10.2011
Williams, Stephen Liberal Democrats Bristol West 06.09.2011
Wright, Simon Liberal Democrats Norwich South 15.12.2011