Early day motion 160

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises 25 June 2014 as Day of the Seafarer; notes the critical economic, social and cultural importance of the UK's 10,840 officers, 8,590 ratings and 1,990 officer cadets working at sea today; expresses dismay at the ongoing decline in the number of registered UK seafarers, with a 30 per cent fall in the number of ratings alone since 2011; further notes that this decline is largely due to the continued exclusion of seafarers from the full protections of the national minimum wage and the Equality Act 2010, which has allowed the undercutting of employment standards in the maritime industry; further notes that this has resulted in pay rates for seafarers in the UK ferry industry as low as £2.35 per hour, whilst ship owners in the Tonnage Tax scheme are benefiting from tax relief currently standing at over £1.5 billion; supports the National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers' Ships of Shame campaign which highlights this exploitation of seafarers; and calls on the Government to mark Day of the Seafarer by committing to full enforcement of the national minimum wage in the maritime sector and implementation of the recommendation of the Government-commissioned Carter Review which called for the end of differential pay in the shipping industry.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 41

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 41 out of 41

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 23.06.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 23.06.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 25.06.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 24.06.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 23.06.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 30.06.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 03.07.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.06.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.07.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 23.06.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 23.06.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 23.06.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.07.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 23.06.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 26.06.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.07.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 25.06.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 23.06.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 24.06.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 30.06.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 24.06.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 25.06.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.06.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 02.07.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 30.06.2014
MacNeil, Angus Scottish National Party Na h-Eileanan an Iar 25.06.2014
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 25.06.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.06.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 30.06.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 25.06.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 23.06.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 23.06.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 23.06.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 25.06.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 24.06.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 25.06.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 24.06.2014
Turner, Karl Labour Party Kingston upon Hull East 23.06.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 01.07.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 25.06.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 24.06.2014