Early day motion 701

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House condemns in the strongest possible terms the two year prison sentences given to three anti-slavery activists in Mauritania from the Haratin ethnic group, including 2013 UN Human Rights Prize laureate and 2014 Mauritanian Presidential runner-up Mr Biram Abeid, Mr Brahim Ould Bilal Ramdane and Djiby Sow; strongly supports the rights of these and other individuals to peacefully protest and work unhindered towards eradicating contemporary forms of slavery in Mauritania; is deeply concerned about the potential ramifications of such convictions on both the Mauritanian and global fight against contemporary forms of slavery, something to which the UK is a prominent leader; notes the reports that the defendants' non-governmental organisations (NGOs) headquarters have been forcibly closed since 12 November 2014; recognises the important role NGOs play in this regard; is dismayed about allegations of the defendants' pre-trial detention treatment, including sleep deprivation, denial of medical care and not being allowed family visits and of some detainees having been forced to sign false confessions; is therefore troubled by the multiple charges levelled against them and concerned that they may not have received a fair trial; and calls on the Government to urgently raise these cases with the Mauritanian government, to work with its EU partners in the country to bring an end to slavery and landowners' exploitation of marginalised sections of society, to raise this issue with the UN High Commissioner on Human Rights and to push for much needed land reforms.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 22

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 22 out of 22

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 21.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 21.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 21.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 22.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 22.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 20.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 28.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 27.01.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 22.01.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 22.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 22.01.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 21.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.02.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 22.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 21.01.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 22.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.01.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 22.01.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 21.01.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.02.2015