Early day motion 466

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that access to seed resources is central to small-scale farmers' ability to maintain resilient and productive livelihoods; further notes that, in facing the effects of climate change and changing global market forces, it is essential that poor farmers in Africa and elsewhere are supported to access and develop sustainable, productive and affordable seed resources through community-controlled initiatives; further notes that just three corporations now control 53 per cent of the global seed market, whilst farmers are experiencing dangerous levels of the debt and vulnerability as such corporations come to control their seed supply; further notes that UK aid is currently supporting initiatives such as the New Alliance for Food Security and Nutrition that promote plant variety protection laws such as in Ghana that fail to protect poor and indigenous farmers and are likely to increase the market dominance of transnational seed corporations; further notes that the Department for International Development committed in 2005 to end policy conditionality for UK aid recipients, yet seed policy reforms required from some recipient states as part of aid commitments under the New Alliance appear in practice to undermine this commitment; and calls on the Government to support community-controlled initiatives to assist farmers to access sustainable, affordable and productive seed varieties instead of initiatives that increase corporate control of seed markets.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 109

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 109 out of 109

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 04.11.2014
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 17.11.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.11.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.11.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 05.01.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 18.11.2014
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 23.01.2015
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 10.12.2014
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Labour Party City of Durham 17.12.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 04.11.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 25.11.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 05.11.2014
Carmichael, Neil Conservative Party Stroud 25.11.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 05.11.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 18.11.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 19.11.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 20.11.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 17.11.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 04.11.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 11.11.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 17.11.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 17.11.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 17.11.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 27.11.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 26.11.2014
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 18.11.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 21.11.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 04.11.2014
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 17.11.2014
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 25.11.2014
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 05.12.2014
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 10.11.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 11.11.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 17.12.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.11.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 06.11.2014
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 27.11.2014
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 19.11.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 02.12.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 06.11.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 07.11.2014
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 17.11.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 17.11.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 06.11.2014
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 17.11.2014
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 10.11.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 10.11.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 11.11.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 17.11.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 21.11.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.11.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 17.11.2014
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 26.11.2014
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 17.11.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 17.11.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 17.11.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 17.11.2014
Joyce, Eric INDEPENDENT Falkirk 07.01.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 01.12.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 20.01.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 01.12.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.11.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.11.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.11.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.11.2014
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 17.11.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 17.11.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 21.11.2014
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 10.11.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 18.11.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.11.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 11.11.2014
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 10.11.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 17.11.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 10.12.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 21.11.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 05.11.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 21.11.2014
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 17.11.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 07.11.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 20.11.2014
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 17.11.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 26.11.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 04.11.2014
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 26.11.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 11.11.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 03.12.2014
Roy, Lindsay Labour Party Glenrothes 25.11.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 08.12.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 04.12.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 11.11.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 17.11.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 18.11.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 05.11.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 17.11.2014
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 09.12.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 17.11.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 17.11.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 11.11.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 18.11.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 18.11.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 05.11.2014
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 26.11.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 17.11.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 18.11.2014
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 15.12.2014
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 19.11.2014
Wishart, Pete Scottish National Party Perth and North Perthshire 08.12.2014
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 19.11.2014