Early day motion 584

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that government and train operating company plans for implementing the multibillion pound Intercity Express rolling stock programme which will ultimately be funded by the taxpayer and fare-payer could see significant staffing cuts on East Coast and Great Western services; is dismayed that new rolling stock being introduced from 2017 could have the buffet car removed, meaning that hot food and meals will only be available in first class whilst other passengers will be forced to rely on a trolley-only service for long, often crowded, journeys so more seats can be crammed onto inter-city services, and perturbed that this upstairs-downstairs catering service is under consideration when passengers already pay the highest rail fares in Europe; is alarmed that driver only operation is also proposed for this rolling stock which would downgrade the train guard's safety operational role and increase risks to passengers by restricting responsibility for safe operation of the train to the driver; further notes that passenger safety and service will be further jeopardised if the new rolling stock is used as cover for de-staffing stations, particularly train dispatch staff; further notes the threat to skilled maintenance workers' jobs in these proposals which would further impact on passenger safety and service and exacerbate the rail industry skills crisis; and calls on the Government to reject any contracts for East Coast and Great Western services which propose any such cuts to rail staff.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 49

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 49 out of 49

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 03.12.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.12.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 16.12.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 01.12.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.12.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 18.12.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 01.12.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.12.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.12.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 01.12.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 01.12.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 01.12.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 01.12.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.12.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 29.01.2015
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 04.02.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 11.12.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.12.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.12.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 29.01.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 07.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.12.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 02.12.2014
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 29.01.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 04.02.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 01.12.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 17.12.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.12.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.12.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 05.12.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.12.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.12.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 01.12.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 01.12.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 01.12.2014
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 10.12.2014
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 27.01.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 04.12.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.12.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 16.12.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 03.02.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 02.12.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 02.12.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 03.12.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 28.01.2015
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 09.01.2015