Early day motion 395

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the Energy Bill of Rights put forward by Fuel Poverty Action as people-centred proposals to end the scandal of fuel poverty; endorses the campaign for a right to affordable energy to meet basic needs, a right to community and publicly-owned energy generation, a right to energy that does not threaten the climate, water, air or the local environment, and a right to properly insulated, well-repaired housing; believes that these are reasonable, achievable goals offering a clear alternative to centralised profit-driven energy policy; welcomes in particular the proposed right not to be forced to have a pre-payment meter, which often leave vulnerable people in the cold and dark; further welcomes the demand for a fair energy pricing system without standing charges, which can hit the poorest hardest by imposing an unfair burden on people who use less energy to save money and cut carbon emissions; calls on the Government to recognise that, this autumn, many constituents are turning on heating for the first time and finding that, before they can access any gas, they must start paying huge arrears that built up over the summer while they were not using heating; and urges Ministers to consider the Energy Bill of Rights as part of a radically more ambitious approach to tackling fuel poverty and transforming our energy system in the public interest.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 75

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 75 out of 75

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 16.12.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 27.10.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.12.2014
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 23.01.2015
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 05.01.2015
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 18.12.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.10.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 28.10.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 24.10.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 17.12.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.01.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 06.01.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 27.10.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 19.01.2015
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 04.02.2015
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 05.01.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.12.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 17.12.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 27.10.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 28.10.2014
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 13.01.2015
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 08.01.2015
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 14.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 16.12.2014
Galloway, George Respect Bradford West 05.11.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 30.10.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 30.10.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.11.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 17.12.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 27.10.2014
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 16.12.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 05.01.2015
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 18.12.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 15.12.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.10.2014
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 29.01.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 28.10.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 18.12.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 08.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 15.12.2014
Joyce, Eric INDEPENDENT Falkirk 07.01.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 15.12.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 05.01.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 18.12.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.11.2014
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 16.01.2015
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 23.10.2014
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 18.12.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 29.10.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 23.10.2014
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 06.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.10.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 15.12.2014
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 05.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 18.12.2014
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 06.01.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 27.10.2014
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 29.01.2015
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 18.12.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 05.01.2015
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 17.12.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 27.10.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 15.12.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 05.01.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 14.01.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 17.12.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 16.12.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 13.01.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 17.12.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 02.12.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 18.12.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 04.11.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 15.01.2015