Early day motion 361

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House shares Mother Teresa’s view that being alone and unwanted is the world’s greatest disease; endorses the view of the Secretary of State for Health that lonely and isolated people are a forgotten million who live amongst us, ignored to our national shame; notes that in the last 50 years Contact the Elderly has provided regular face-to-face contact via volunteers, currently numbering 7,000, from all walks of life, who give their time to create positive social change; further notes that Contact the Elderly’s regular renewal of friendship nationwide restores health and happiness, and saves taxpayer costs by reducing hospital and GP visits; further notes that there is much more to be done in expanding Contact the Elderly’s reach around the country to enable it to double the number of older people that it supports; and calls on hon. Members and the Government to support Contact the Elderly’s Power of Contact campaign to raise £1 million in the Golden Jubilee year to enable the charity to extends its vital hand of friendship to, and create face-to-face happiness links with, many more of the neglected million older people.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 91

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 91 out of 91

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 21.10.2014
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 03.11.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 22.10.2014
Baldry, Tony Conservative Party Banbury 28.10.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 27.10.2014
Bellingham, Henry Conservative Party North West Norfolk 19.11.2014
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 16.10.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.10.2014
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 01.12.2014
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 03.11.2014
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 16.12.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 22.10.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 22.10.2014
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 22.10.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 11.11.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.10.2014
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 27.10.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 06.11.2014
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 22.10.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 17.11.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 28.10.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 23.10.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 10.11.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 03.11.2014
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 16.10.2014
Field, Mark Conservative Party Cities of London and Westminster 15.10.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 22.10.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 24.10.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 28.10.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 27.10.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 07.11.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 16.10.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 27.10.2014
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 23.10.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 27.10.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 21.10.2014
Havard, Dai Labour Party Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney 03.11.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 27.10.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 23.10.2014
Hoey, Kate Labour Party Vauxhall 28.10.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 23.10.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 04.11.2014
Hosie, Stewart Scottish National Party Dundee East 21.11.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 23.10.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 10.11.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 15.10.2014
Jones, David Conservative Party Clwyd West 30.10.2014
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 17.11.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 19.11.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 27.10.2014
Lefroy, Jeremy Conservative Party Stafford 04.11.2014
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 27.10.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.11.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 29.10.2014
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 24.11.2014
McGuire, Anne Labour Party Stirling 24.10.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 04.11.2014
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 29.10.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 21.10.2014
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 10.11.2014
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 06.11.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 17.11.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 13.01.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 23.10.2014
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 21.11.2014
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 28.10.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 05.11.2014
Robertson, Angus Scottish National Party Moray 05.11.2014
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 05.11.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 16.10.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 17.11.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.10.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 27.10.2014
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 24.11.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 28.10.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 22.10.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 22.10.2014
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 27.10.2014
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 27.10.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 11.11.2014
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 27.10.2014
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 06.11.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 06.11.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 28.10.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 20.10.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 21.10.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 22.10.2014
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 25.11.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 03.11.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 28.10.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.11.2014