Early day motion 655

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House commends and supports campaigners in their ongoing fight to save the Independent Living Fund (ILF) on which nearly 18,000 disabled people with high-support needs rely to live with choice and control in life instead of going into residential care; notes the failure of the High Court case taken by two ILF recipients to stop the Government closing the ILF in June 2015, while noting the judge's comment that the Minister was made fully aware of the inevitable and considerable adverse effect that closure would have on disabled people; further notes that the judge declined to rule on whether the closure may put the UK in breach of its international obligations to advance disabled people's rights to independent living and equality of opportunity under the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities; and reminds all parliamentarians that, as part of Operation Disabled Vote, manifestos and pledges will be measured against the precepts of international human rights as well as of social justice by 12.2 million disabled voters.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 48

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 48 out of 48

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 06.01.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 12.01.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 12.01.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 05.01.2015
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 09.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 05.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.01.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.12.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 06.01.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.01.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 05.01.2015
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 06.01.2015
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 13.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.01.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 06.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 20.01.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 13.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 07.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 07.01.2015
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 09.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.01.2015
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 28.01.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 12.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.01.2015
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 07.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 18.12.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 29.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.01.2015
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 08.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 07.01.2015
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 14.01.2015
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 22.01.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 26.01.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 05.01.2015
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 27.01.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 05.01.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.01.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 06.01.2015
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 07.01.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 05.01.2015
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 12.01.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 06.01.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 08.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 08.01.2015