Early day motion 612

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern the recent escalation in anti-abortion activity targeted at women and staff attending abortion clinics and pregnancy advisory services; further notes that approaching and recording women and staff, alongside the distribution of misleading information and distressing images, intimidates women and jeopardises access to legal healthcare services; believes in upholding the right to peaceful protest; further believes that the right to peaceful protest should not interfere with the fundamental right for women to make individual reproductive choices; further notes that campaigns against women exercising their sexual health rights can continue without occupying the space immediately outside clinics; supports the British Pregnancy Advisory Service's Back Off campaign to implement buffer zones outside reproductive health clinics as a means of ensuring that women are not harassed or obstructed from accessing confidential advice and treatment; and calls on the Government to bring forward legislation to protect the rights of women to access lawful healthcare by enabling the introduction and implementation of buffer zones around clinics offering abortion and sexual health services.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 34

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 34 out of 34

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 16.12.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 14.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 16.12.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.12.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 17.12.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 17.12.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 05.01.2015
Gilmore, Sheila Labour Party Edinburgh East 12.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 17.12.2014
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 05.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 15.12.2014
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 05.01.2015
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 03.02.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 11.12.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 27.01.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 17.12.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 16.12.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 15.12.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.01.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.12.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 05.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 10.12.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 15.12.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 17.12.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 05.02.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.12.2014
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 05.01.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 11.12.2014
Whiteford, Eilidh Scottish National Party Banff and Buchan 05.01.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 16.12.2014
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 22.01.2015