Early day motion 585

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House regrets the latest announcement from Trinity Mirror newspapers that approximately 50 editorial and non-editorial jobs will be lost as seven newspapers in the south of England, including the Harrow Observer, Reading Post and Surrey Herald, are to be closed; notes that the proposals will mean that the county of Berkshire will be served by a digital-only model; further notes that the latest closures come on top of the closure of 150 local newspaper titles since the financial crisis of 2008, with many more reducing the frequency of publication or the range of locally-specific news coverage; is concerned about the loss of such assets to local communities and the important democratic function they serve in reporting on public life including local and national election campaigning; welcomes the recent cross-party stakeholder seminar organised by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport to consider policy responses; and joins the National Union of Journalists in calling for a short, sharp cross-party and inter-departmental government inquiry into securing a future for the industry, in order to protect the public interest and defend jobs in quality local journalism.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 44

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 44 out of 44

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 23.01.2015
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 01.12.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 07.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.12.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 05.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 01.12.2014
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 01.12.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 10.12.2014
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 03.12.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 02.12.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 01.12.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.12.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 01.12.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 04.12.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.12.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 04.12.2014
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 26.01.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 04.12.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 01.12.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.12.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 01.12.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 05.12.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 02.12.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 02.12.2014
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 01.12.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 05.01.2015
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 10.12.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 18.12.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.01.2015
Reevell, Simon Conservative Party Dewsbury 13.01.2015
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 08.12.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 01.12.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 04.12.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 02.12.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.12.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 03.12.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 02.12.2014
Thomas, Gareth (Harrow West) Labour Party Harrow West 01.12.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 04.12.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 03.12.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 22.01.2015