Early day motion 696

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House congratulates the London Mathematical Society on reaching its 150th anniversary; notes that the inaugural meeting of the London Mathematical Society was held at University College, London at eight o'clock on 16 January 1865, at which Professor Augustus De Morgan was elected as its first President; further notes that a commemorative event will be held on 16 January 2015 at Goldsmiths' Hall, London entitled Mathematics: Unlocking Worlds; further notes that this 150th Anniversary celebration will be addressed by mathematicians at the cutting-edge of mathematics research and further notes that it will showcase the exciting ways in which mathematics touches so many parts of people's daily lives; and applauds the London Mathematical Society for its commitment to the idea that mathematics is for everyone and everybody uses it whether consciously or not.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 9

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 9 out of 9

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 22.01.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 21.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.01.2015
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 15.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 22.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.01.2015
Metcalfe, Stephen Conservative Party Basildon South and Thurrock East 15.01.2015
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 15.01.2015