Early day motion 626

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is deeply concerned that visa decision-making in South Asia is being centralised at the risk of creating poorer service and less effective oversight; notes crucial regional visa hubs such as Mumbai and Dhaka are being downsized, with Mumbai's visa staff reduced from 70 to 20 despite receiving a similar volume of applications to New Delhi; further notes 323,575 visa applications were made in India alone in 2013; recognises the importance of these areas to the 1.4 million people of Indian origin and 300,000 people of Bangladeshi origin in the UK; considers it vital to maintain good relations with India and Bangladesh; and endorses the campaigns launched by Asian Voice and Curry Life Magazine and the two e-petitions to the UK Government which call on the Government to review these regrettable decisions.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 36

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 36 out of 36

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ali, Rushanara Labour Party Bethnal Green and Bow 05.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 15.12.2014
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 06.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 17.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 17.12.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 16.12.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 17.12.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.01.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 17.12.2014
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 15.12.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 18.12.2014
Glass, Pat Labour Party North West Durham 05.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 17.12.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 15.12.2014
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 05.01.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 06.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.01.2015
Lewell-Buck, Emma Labour Party South Shields 06.01.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.12.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 07.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 15.12.2014
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 22.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 16.12.2014
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 17.12.2014
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 06.01.2015
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 07.01.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 05.01.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 17.12.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 16.12.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 16.12.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 15.12.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 12.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 12.01.2015
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 09.01.2015