Early day motion 670

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House expresses its heartfelt sympathy to the families of those journalists, police and others who were assassinated or injured at the offices of the French satirical newspaper Charlie Hebdo on 7 January 2015; notes that this attack took place on press day, thereby increasing the casualty list and the potential damage to press freedom; considers that the perpetrators of this heinous crime must swiftly be brought to justice; further notes the bravery of individuals who work in this field despite many of them coming under attack previously, and that in carrying out their jobs they uphold the invaluable and historical right to free speech and freedom of expression which are both integral elements of democracies; acknowledges the solidarity that is being shown around the world on behalf of the victims and their colleagues in standing together in defence of civil liberties at this time; and offers its support to the NUJ in the UK and the International Federation of Journalists for their work in defending the rights of all journalists to do their job without fear of threats, intimidation and brutal murder.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 71

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 71 out of 71

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 14.01.2015
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 15.01.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 08.01.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 12.01.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 13.01.2015
Blears, Hazel Labour Party Salford and Eccles 12.01.2015
Blunt, Crispin Conservative Party Reigate 08.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 08.01.2015
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 21.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 14.01.2015
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 20.01.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 08.01.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.01.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 13.01.2015
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 15.01.2015
Davies, Philip Conservative Party Shipley 09.01.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 14.01.2015
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 14.01.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.01.2015
Evans, Nigel Conservative Party Ribble Valley 13.01.2015
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 08.01.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 08.01.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 13.01.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 19.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 05.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 12.01.2015
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 09.01.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 19.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.01.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 14.01.2015
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 16.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 13.01.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 08.01.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 15.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.01.2015
Lewis, Julian Conservative Party New Forest East 13.01.2015
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.01.2015
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 20.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.01.2015
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 28.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 08.01.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
McKechin, Ann Labour Party Glasgow North 13.01.2015
McKenzie, Iain Labour Party Inverclyde 08.01.2015
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 29.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 12.01.2015
Mitchell, Austin Labour Party Great Grimsby 08.01.2015
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 12.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 08.01.2015
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 05.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 13.01.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.01.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 21.01.2015
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 08.01.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 13.01.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 08.01.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 13.01.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.01.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 12.01.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 15.01.2015
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 14.01.2015
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 12.01.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 12.01.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 14.01.2015
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 08.01.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 08.01.2015
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 13.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 12.01.2015
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 08.01.2015