Early day motion 436

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House is concerned about the abuses and threats faced by elephants in India and South-East Asia; notes that these animals are highly endangered; is disturbed that elephants are snatched from the wild to supply animals for tourist events and festivals; notes that to prepare them for use in tourist attractions and festivals baby and juvenile elephants are beaten, isolated and deprived of food and water to break their spirits and subdue them; further notes that Asian elephants are subject to ivory poaching and illegal trafficking; respectfully calls on the Indian and South-East Asian governments to take immediate measures to bring such ill-treatment to an end; and calls on United Kingdom tourists not to support any attractions that involve captive elephants.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 96

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 96 out of 96

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 30.10.2014
Amess, David Conservative Party Southend West 17.11.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 29.10.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 05.11.2014
Bellingham, Henry Conservative Party North West Norfolk 27.01.2015
Benyon, Richard Conservative Party Newbury 18.11.2014
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 18.11.2014
Blackman, Bob Conservative Party Harrow East 03.11.2014
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 05.11.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 06.11.2014
Bruce, Fiona Conservative Party Congleton 17.11.2014
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 17.11.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 29.10.2014
Carmichael, Neil Conservative Party Stroud 04.11.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.10.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 18.11.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 04.11.2014
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 05.11.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 20.11.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 30.10.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 11.11.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 28.01.2015
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 28.01.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 03.11.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 04.11.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 05.11.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 17.11.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 04.02.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 05.11.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 21.11.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 10.11.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 03.11.2014
Evans, Jonathan Conservative Party Cardiff North 06.11.2014
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 28.01.2015
Field, Frank Labour Party Birkenhead 06.11.2014
Fitzpatrick, Jim Labour Party Poplar and Limehouse 04.11.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 04.11.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 10.11.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 30.10.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 30.10.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.11.2014
Goldsmith, Zac Conservative Party Richmond Park 10.11.2014
Gray, James Conservative Party North Wiltshire 29.01.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 03.02.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 30.10.2014
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 17.11.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 05.11.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 04.11.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 05.11.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 30.10.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 04.11.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 05.11.2014
Jowell, Tessa Labour Party Dulwich and West Norwood 17.11.2014
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 04.02.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 05.11.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 17.11.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.11.2014
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 06.11.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 04.11.2014
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 21.11.2014
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 07.11.2014
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 04.11.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 18.11.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 29.10.2014
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 06.11.2014
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 04.11.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 17.11.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 13.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 05.11.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 18.11.2014
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 20.11.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 26.11.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 11.11.2014
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 11.11.2014
Rosindell, Andrew Conservative Party Romford 07.11.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 05.11.2014
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 21.01.2015
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 29.10.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 29.10.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 28.10.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 29.10.2014
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 03.11.2014
Soames, Nicholas Conservative Party Mid Sussex 21.01.2015
Stephenson, Andrew Conservative Party Pendle 04.02.2015
Streeter, Gary Conservative Party South West Devon 27.01.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.11.2014
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 11.11.2014
Thurso, John Liberal Democrats Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross 18.11.2014
Vaz, Keith Labour Party Leicester East 17.11.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 04.11.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 27.01.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 17.11.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 04.11.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 18.11.2014
Wilson, Sammy Democratic Unionist Party East Antrim 17.11.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 07.11.2014