Early day motion 590

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House supports humanists and their right to a legal marriage ceremony which reflects their beliefs and is performed by someone who shares them; urges the Government to lay down regulations for legislation of humanist marriage in a timely manner; notes that this would be a modest reform in line with existing marriage laws for Jews and Quakers and not a fundamental change; recalls the Government's pledge to support strong and stable families and its support for the institution of marriage; believes humanist marriage would greatly strengthen families in England and Wales by allowing couples to start their lives together in a deeply meaningful and personal ceremony; further notes the experience of humanist marriage in Scotland where its introduction led to a net increase in marriage in the context of a general decline; and encourages the Government to support humanists' rights to have independent legal wedding ceremonies outside registry offices like those allowed for persons of religious belief.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 64

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 64 out of 64

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 15.12.2014
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 08.12.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 10.12.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 17.12.2014
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 04.12.2014
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 06.01.2015
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 10.12.2014
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 02.12.2014
Brady, Graham Conservative Party Altrincham and Sale West 15.12.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 17.12.2014
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 08.12.2014
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 18.12.2014
Carmichael, Neil Conservative Party Stroud 04.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.12.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 09.12.2014
Chapman, Jenny Labour Party Darlington 10.12.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.12.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 10.12.2014
Cryer, John Labour Party Leyton and Wanstead 17.12.2014
Davidson, Ian Labour Party Glasgow South West 04.12.2014
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 18.12.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 15.12.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 15.12.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 15.12.2014
Edwards, Jonathan Plaid Cymru Carmarthen East and Dinefwr 08.12.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 16.12.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 11.12.2014
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 16.12.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.12.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 17.12.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 05.12.2014
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 11.12.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 15.12.2014
Hendry, Charles Conservative Party Wealden 06.01.2015
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 04.12.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.12.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 05.01.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 04.12.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 02.12.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 20.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.12.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 11.12.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.12.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 03.12.2014
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 05.12.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 08.12.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 17.12.2014
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 04.12.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 11.12.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 15.12.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 08.12.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.12.2014
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 10.12.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 15.12.2014
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 04.12.2014
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 10.12.2014
Weatherley, Mike Conservative Party Hove 05.12.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 03.12.2014
Williams, Roger Liberal Democrats Brecon and Radnorshire 11.12.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 10.12.2014
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 15.12.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 15.12.2014
Yeo, Tim Conservative Party South Suffolk 09.12.2014