Early day motion 592

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes the launch of Enable Scotland's new campaign, #BeTheChange, and supports its core aim to challenge bullying and eliminate offensive language about people with a learning disability; notes that Enable Scotland is a member-led charity of and for people with a learning disability, who told Enable Scotland it was time to challenge this hateful language experienced by 90 per cent of them; recognises the need for a campaign specifically focusing on anti-bullying measures for people with a learning disability; understands that the #BeTheChange campaign will encompass two main strands, a school resource for teachers to raise awareness and promote positive attitudes to learning disability and a public awareness campaign to tackle abusive language in wider society; acknowledges that the #BeTheChange campaign is the culmination of two years of Enable's work towards developing a learning disability-specific anti-bullying campaign with support from other key partners; and encourages people to take the #BeTheChange challenge and declare that they will help to end the use of abusive language towards people with learning disabilities.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 18

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 18 out of 18

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 03.02.2015
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 18.12.2014
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 10.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 09.12.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 02.02.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 03.12.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 15.12.2014
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 02.02.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 08.12.2014
Kennedy, Charles Liberal Democrats Ross Skye and Lochaber 20.01.2015
McDonnell, Alasdair Social Democratic and Labour Party Belfast South 11.12.2014
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 05.12.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 05.12.2014
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 03.12.2014
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 11.12.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 04.12.2014
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 10.12.2014
Weir, Mike Scottish National Party Angus 10.12.2014