Early day motion 450

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes that there are estimated to be one million houses in multiple occupation (HMO) units in England housing some of the UK's most vulnerable citizens; further notes that according to the Department for Communities and Local Government, HMOs are frequently 'old and highly inefficient in terms of energy use' and that a recent report for the EAGA Charitable Trust, Housing in Multiple Occupancy: Energy Issues and Policy, has found that problems with damp, mould and associated health concerns are frequent for those living in HMOs; regrets that there are currently no legislative drivers to improve the energy efficiency of HMOs and the lives of their residents; further notes with interest that Bath and North East Somerset Council requires HMOs to reach energy performance certificate band E as a condition of licensing under the Housing Act 2004; therefore supports the Houses in Multiple Occupation (Energy Performance Certificates and Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards) Bill introduced on 21 July 2014 by the hon. Member for Southampton Test, which will bring HMOs within the scope of the minimum energy efficiency standard for the private rented sector under the Energy Act 2011 and build on the example set by Bath and North East Somerset Council by requiring all local housing authorities to make a minimum energy efficiency standard a mandatory condition of HMO licensing; and urges the Government to introduce these legislative changes as soon as possible.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 64

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 64 out of 64

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 07.11.2014
Aldous, Peter Conservative Party Waveney 30.10.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 05.11.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 10.11.2014
Beith, Alan Liberal Democrats Berwick-Upon-Tweed 30.10.2014
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 23.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 03.11.2014
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 30.10.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 30.10.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 09.12.2014
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 30.10.2014
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 17.12.2014
Cooper, Rosie Labour Party West Lancashire 30.10.2014
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 03.11.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.01.2015
Crouch, Tracey Conservative Party Chatham and Aylesford 21.01.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 30.10.2014
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 17.12.2014
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 15.12.2014
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 15.12.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 08.12.2014
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 16.12.2014
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 04.11.2014
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 10.11.2014
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 30.10.2014
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 06.11.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 04.11.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 30.10.2014
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 03.11.2014
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 08.12.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 04.11.2014
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 03.11.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 30.10.2014
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 03.11.2014
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 30.10.2014
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 03.11.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 30.10.2014
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 30.10.2014
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 19.11.2014
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 05.01.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 04.11.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 30.10.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 04.11.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 18.12.2014
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 13.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 05.11.2014
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 18.11.2014
Riordan, Linda Labour Party Halifax 26.11.2014
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 04.12.2014
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 05.11.2014
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 18.11.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 30.10.2014
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 03.11.2014
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 04.11.2014
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 30.10.2014
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 11.11.2014
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 10.12.2014
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 30.10.2014
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 05.01.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 30.10.2014
Whitehead, Alan Labour Party Southampton Test 30.10.2014
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 05.11.2014
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 30.10.2014
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 30.10.2014