Early day motion 678

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House welcomes Bite The Ballot's second annual National Voter Registration Day (NVRD) on 5 February 2015, supported by Open Society Foundations, Joseph Rowntree Foundation, Unbound Philanthropy, Hogan Lovells LLP and others, which aims to encourage 250,000 new electors to join the electoral register; praises the NVRD 2014 campaign which encouraged over 50,000 people to register to vote at a cost per registration of £0.25; acknowledges the Government's commitment to get more young people and other under-represented groups to register during the transition to Individual Electoral Registration; further welcomes the move to online registration and that over 36 million people have been successfully matched and automatically added to the new register; believes that with millions of voters still missing from the register, in order to deliver its commitment to maximising registration, the Government must now do more to encourage, support and promote the NVRD annual day of action that involves youth clubs, community groups, educational establishments and businesses across the UK registering people to vote; recognises that this initiative is supported by the APPG on Voter Registration and the Political and Constitutional Reform Select Committee, with unanimous all-party support from members of both Houses and the devolved legislatures; and strongly urges the Government, the Cabinet Office, the Electoral Commission, local authorities, valuation joint boards and local electoral registration officers to fully recognise the importance of NVRD in creating an engaged and inspired young electorate.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 52

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 52 out of 52

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Allen, Graham Labour Party Nottingham North 20.01.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 21.01.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 22.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 13.01.2015
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 21.01.2015
Campbell, Gregory Democratic Unionist Party Londonderry East 13.01.2015
Campbell, Menzies Liberal Democrats North East Fife 21.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.01.2015
David, Wayne Labour Party Caerphilly 20.01.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 28.01.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 13.01.2015
Farron, Tim Liberal Democrats Westmorland and Lonsdale 16.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 22.01.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 20.01.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 26.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 13.01.2015
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 21.01.2015
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 03.02.2015
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 20.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 14.01.2015
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 20.01.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 26.01.2015
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 15.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 13.01.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 22.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 15.01.2015
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 16.01.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 19.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 28.01.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 16.01.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 13.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 20.01.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 14.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 22.01.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 15.01.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 22.01.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 14.01.2015
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 20.01.2015
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 13.01.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 20.01.2015
Smith, Chloe Conservative Party Norwich North 13.01.2015
Smith, Robert Liberal Democrats West Aberdeenshire and Kincardine 16.01.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 15.01.2015
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 20.01.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 22.01.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 12.01.2015
Williams, Hywel Plaid Cymru Arfon 16.01.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 16.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 04.02.2015
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 21.01.2015