Early day motion 648

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that properly qualified supply teachers are an essential resource for schools which wish to deliver the same quality learning experience for pupils when a class's regular teacher is absent; notes that supply teachers are increasingly employed by agencies which siphon off significant amounts of public funding for education into their profits; is concerned that agencies are unable to offer supply teachers membership of the Teachers' Pension Scheme and are driving down their pay, with a recent survey by the National Union of Teachers finding that 40 per cent of supply teachers are getting lower, or significantly lower, pay than three years ago; further notes the uncertainty and disquiet about umbrella companies which increasingly employ supply teachers; and calls on the Government to encourage schools to employ supply teachers directly or through the local authority, rather than using agencies, to ensure supply teachers are paid fairly and have access to pension rights on an equal basis to other teachers.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 48

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 48 out of 48

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Ainsworth, Bob Labour Party Coventry North East 09.01.2015
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 09.01.2015
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 23.01.2015
Blunkett, David Labour Party Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough 27.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 07.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 06.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 18.12.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 06.01.2015
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 04.02.2015
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 19.01.2015
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 13.01.2015
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 07.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 06.01.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 18.12.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 05.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 07.01.2015
Harvey, Nick Liberal Democrats North Devon 05.01.2015
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 21.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 06.01.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 05.02.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 18.12.2014
Johnson, Alan Labour Party Kingston upon Hull West and Hessle 19.01.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 02.02.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 18.12.2014
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 08.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 07.01.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 06.01.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
Meacher, Michael Labour Party Oldham West and Royton 06.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 06.01.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 17.12.2014
Miller, Andrew Labour Party Ellesmere Port and Neston 13.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 07.01.2015
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 14.01.2015
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 07.01.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 05.01.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 05.01.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 06.01.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 06.01.2015
Simpson, David Democratic Unionist Party Upper Bann 07.01.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 05.01.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 12.01.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 15.01.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 13.01.2015
Williams, Mark Liberal Democrats Ceredigion 08.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 12.01.2015
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 21.01.2015