Early day motion 566

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes with concern that every year some 50 million pheasants and partridges are mass-produced to be shot for so-called sport, and that a large number of the breeding birds are confined for the whole of their productive lives in crowded metal battery units, known in industry circles as raised laying cages; further notes that these units cause the birds to suffer high levels of injury and premature death, despite them now being enriched; observes that many of the birds are fitted with restrictive face masks that attempt to limit the damage resulting from birds attacking one another because of the stresses caused by these unnatural, confined and unpleasant conditions; further observes that the law and tax regime recognise the game bird industry as primarily a sport rather than a means of food production; agrees with shooting industry spokespeople who have said in the past that the cages not only represent a major welfare problem but are harmful to the reputation of shooting; further notes that a recent YouGov poll found that 70 per cent of respondents oppose the use of cages; believes that there is no justification for causing unnecessary suffering to animals; further observes that the shooting industry can afford to pay for decent conditions for these birds and believes that it has a responsibility to do so; and calls on the Government to introduce a ban on raised laying cages for breeding pheasants and partridges.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 75

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 75 out of 75

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Abbott, Diane Labour Party Hackney North and Stoke Newington 28.11.2014
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 17.12.2014
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 17.12.2014
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 28.01.2015
Begg, Anne Labour Party Aberdeen South 16.12.2014
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 23.01.2015
Brooke, Annette Liberal Democrats Mid Dorset and North Poole 17.12.2014
Brown, Nicholas Labour Party Newcastle upon Tyne East 21.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 03.12.2014
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 02.12.2014
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 08.01.2015
Clark, Katy Labour Party North Ayrshire and Arran 14.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 27.11.2014
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 08.12.2014
Crockart, Mike Liberal Democrats Edinburgh West 05.01.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 06.01.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 07.01.2015
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 05.01.2015
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 04.02.2015
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 14.01.2015
Dodds, Nigel Democratic Unionist Party Belfast North 17.12.2014
Donaldson, Jeffrey Democratic Unionist Party Lagan Valley 12.01.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 18.12.2014
Dowd, Jim Labour Party Lewisham West and Penge 17.12.2014
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 01.12.2014
Evans, Chris Labour Party Islwyn 27.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 02.12.2014
Francis, Hywel Labour Party Aberavon 16.12.2014
Gilbert, Stephen Liberal Democrats St Austell and Newquay 06.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 04.12.2014
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 26.11.2014
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 05.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 28.11.2014
Hemming, John Liberal Democrats Birmingham Yardley 14.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 16.12.2014
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 12.01.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 19.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 27.11.2014
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 05.01.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 05.01.2015
Hunter, Mark Liberal Democrats Cheadle 05.01.2015
Huppert, Julian Liberal Democrats Cambridge 08.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 05.01.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 17.12.2014
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 05.01.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 05.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 09.12.2014
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 08.01.2015
Long, Naomi Alliance Party Belfast East 20.01.2015
Lucas, Caroline Green Party Brighton Pavilion 08.12.2014
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 28.11.2014
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 27.11.2014
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 05.01.2015
Mulholland, Greg Liberal Democrats Leeds North West 05.01.2015
Pearce, Teresa Labour Party Erith and Thamesmead 06.01.2015
Pugh, John Liberal Democrats Southport 05.01.2015
Reid, Alan Liberal Democrats Argyll and Bute 05.01.2015
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 02.02.2015
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 18.12.2014
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 05.01.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 04.12.2014
Sanders, Adrian Liberal Democrats Torbay 16.12.2014
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 03.12.2014
Sheridan, Jim Labour Party Paisley and Renfrewshire North 07.01.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 17.12.2014
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 05.01.2015
Thornton, Mike Liberal Democrats Eastleigh 14.01.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 13.01.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 05.01.2015
Watson, Tom Labour Party West Bromwich East 04.02.2015
Watts, Dave Labour Party St Helens North 02.02.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 16.12.2014
Willott, Jenny Liberal Democrats Cardiff Central 21.01.2015
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 08.01.2015
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 15.01.2015