Early day motion 673

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House notes the recent report by Professor Peter Walton on the likely impact of the Legal Aid, Sentencing and Punishment of Offenders Act 2012 on insolvency litigation; further notes that Professor Walton's empirical evidence shows that from April 2015 the Act will have a negative impact on creditors, including the taxpayer and businesses, as well as the public interest; notes concerns from business groups representing creditors, including the Institute of Credit Management and the British Property Federation; is concerned that more than £160 million owed to businesses and the taxpayer each year could remain with directors or third parties that have wrongly, negligently or fraudulently taken money out of a business as a result of the Act; and calls on the Government to review the legislation before it comes into force in April 2015.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 55

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 55 out of 55

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 13.01.2015
Benton, Joe Labour Party Bootle 23.01.2015
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 21.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 09.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 14.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 14.01.2015
Champion, Sarah Labour Party Rotherham 20.01.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 13.01.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 15.01.2015
Crausby, David Labour Party Bolton North East 13.01.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 02.02.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 20.01.2015
Cunningham, Tony Labour Party Workington 28.01.2015
Davies, Geraint Labour Party Swansea West 04.02.2015
Dobson, Frank Labour Party Holborn and St Pancras 22.01.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 14.01.2015
Durkan, Mark Social Democratic and Labour Party Foyle 12.01.2015
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 29.01.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 21.01.2015
George, Andrew Liberal Democrats St Ives 13.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 08.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 20.01.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 19.01.2015
Henderson, Gordon Conservative Party Sittingbourne and Sheppey 28.01.2015
Hermon, Lady INDEPENDENT North Down 03.02.2015
Heyes, David Labour Party Ashton under Lyne 15.01.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 19.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 13.01.2015
Horwood, Martin Liberal Democrats Cheltenham 02.02.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 13.01.2015
Leech, John Liberal Democrats Manchester Withington 15.01.2015
Lloyd, Stephen Liberal Democrats Eastbourne 21.01.2015
Love, Andrew Labour Party Edmonton 20.01.2015
Main, Anne Conservative Party St Albans 26.01.2015
Marsden, Gordon Labour Party Blackpool South 22.01.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 05.01.2015
Meale, Alan Labour Party Mansfield 13.01.2015
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 12.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 08.01.2015
Newmark, Brooks Conservative Party Braintree 04.02.2015
O'Donnell, Fiona Labour Party East Lothian 05.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 21.01.2015
Perkins, Toby Labour Party Chesterfield 21.01.2015
Ritchie, Margaret Social Democratic and Labour Party South Down 13.01.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 21.01.2015
Ruddock, Joan Labour Party Lewisham Deptford 22.01.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 05.01.2015
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 20.01.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 13.01.2015
Slaughter, Andy Labour Party Hammersmith 20.01.2015
Swales, Ian Liberal Democrats Redcar 20.01.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 12.01.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 19.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 13.01.2015
Wood, Mike Labour Party Batley and Spen 15.01.2015