Hereditary Peers

Hereditary Peers inherit their title and consists of five ranks: Duke, Marquess, Earl, Viscount and Baron. Peerages may become extinct or fall into abeyance, but so long as there is an heir the title will continue. The House of Lords Act 1999 removed the entitlement of most of the hereditary Peers to sit and vote in the House of Lords and of the 92 hereditary Peers who retain their seat in the Lords, 75 were elected by their fellow hereditary Peers.

Further information on this subject can be found from the following links.

Alphabetical List of Members of the House of Lords

Lords by party and type of peerage

Related glossary term: Peer (Member of the House of Lords)

« Back to Glossary