Division bell

Division bells are rung to summon MPs or members of the House of Lords to vote in Parliament. These are situated within the House and its outbuildings as well as in government offices and other buildings within the division bell area. Once the bell is rung, members have eight minutes to reach the voting lobbies.

Further information:

About Parliament: Divisions

« Back to Glossary