Early day motion 721

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises that there were 7.5 million electors missing from the electoral register in 2010 and that no improvement has been made in registering these missing millions of voters over the past five years; notes this figure has now increased by the loss of one million young voters; further recognises that in the 2010 General Election the Electoral Commission set itself a very low target to register just 1.8 per cent of unregistered voters, totalling 142,000 people; further notes that the Electoral Commission 2014-19 Corporate Plan, page 16, continues with a lack of ambition as it is prepared to accept similar low levels of non-registraton of 7.5 million over the next five years; further notes that the Electoral Commission has failed to take effective action against electoral registration officers who repeatedly fail to implement their statutory duties; and further notes that the cumulative effect of this inaction and low ambition will have a negative effect on voter turnout and engagement in the General Election and leave off millions of voters when the new parliamentary boundaries are redrawn in December 2015.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 76

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 76 out of 76

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 21.01.2015
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 04.02.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 22.01.2015
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 04.02.2015
Blears, Hazel Labour Party Salford and Eccles 28.01.2015
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 21.01.2015
Bottomley, Peter Conservative Party Worthing West 22.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.02.2015
Clarke, Tom Labour Party Coatbridge Chryston and Bellshill 04.02.2015
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 28.01.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 04.02.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 28.01.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 21.01.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 21.01.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 28.01.2015
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 28.01.2015
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 21.01.2015
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 28.01.2015
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 28.01.2015
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 28.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.01.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 28.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 21.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 26.01.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 21.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 26.01.2015
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 28.01.2015
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 04.02.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 21.01.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 28.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.01.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 21.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 22.01.2015
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 28.01.2015
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 21.01.2015
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 21.01.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 22.01.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 29.01.2015
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 05.02.2015
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 28.01.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 03.02.2015
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 28.01.2015
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 04.02.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.01.2015
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 04.02.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 22.01.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 21.01.2015
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 21.01.2015
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 28.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 21.01.2015
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 21.01.2015
Murphy, Paul Labour Party Torfaen 04.02.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 28.01.2015
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 21.01.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 21.01.2015
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 21.01.2015
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 27.01.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 21.01.2015
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 28.01.2015
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 21.01.2015
Russell, Bob Liberal Democrats Colchester 21.01.2015
Shannon, Jim Democratic Unionist Party Strangford 22.01.2015
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 21.01.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 21.01.2015
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 28.01.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 28.01.2015
Stunell, Andrew Liberal Democrats Hazel Grove 05.02.2015
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 04.02.2015
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 04.02.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 21.01.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 28.01.2015
Ward, David Liberal Democrats Bradford East 28.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 04.02.2015
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 21.01.2015
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 21.01.2015