Early day motion 722

Main content

Follow this EDM by:


That this House recognises the cross-party unity in implementing the Electoral Administration Act 2009 to introduce individual electoral registration (IER); notes that the timescale for its introduction was after May 2015; further notes that the reason for this long lead in time was to register the 7.5 million missing voters; further notes that this cross-party unity was shattered in 2010 when the Coalition Government brought forward the date for the introduction of IER; further notes that the stated reason for bringing forward the date for introduction of IER was public concern over electoral registration fraud; further notes that only one person had been successfully prosecuted for electoral registration fraud in the previous four years; further notes that the Government has failed to reduce the number of non-registered voters over the past five years; further notes that this figure has now been increased by an additional one million young people left off the new register; further notes that a possible additional 5.5 million voters could fail to be transferred to the new IER register; and further notes that the combined impact of these failures will have a detrimental effect on the General Election and a detrimental impact on the number of people excluded from the calculations in the new Parliamentary Boundary Review which starts in December 2015.

Filter EDMs by:

Total number of signatures: 72

  1. Show:



    Supported by:
    A list of all MPs that have signed and support the motion.
    A list of MPs that have withdrawn their signature from the motion.

Showing 72 out of 72

Name Party Constituency Date Signed
Anderson, David Labour Party Blaydon 21.01.2015
Barron, Kevin Labour Party Rother Valley 04.02.2015
Bayley, Hugh Labour Party York Central 22.01.2015
Betts, Clive Labour Party Sheffield South East 04.02.2015
Blears, Hazel Labour Party Salford and Eccles 28.01.2015
Blomfield, Paul Labour Party Sheffield Central 21.01.2015
Campbell, Ronnie Labour Party Blyth Valley 28.01.2015
Caton, Martin Labour Party Gower 04.02.2015
Coffey, Ann Labour Party Stockport 28.01.2015
Connarty, Michael Labour Party Linlithgow and East Falkirk 04.02.2015
Corbyn, Jeremy Labour Party Islington North 23.01.2015
Cunningham, Alex Labour Party Stockton North 21.01.2015
Cunningham, Jim Labour Party Coventry South 21.01.2015
Doran, Frank Labour Party Aberdeen North 28.01.2015
Efford, Clive Labour Party Eltham 28.01.2015
Ellman, Louise Labour Party Liverpool Riverside 21.01.2015
Engel, Natascha Labour Party North East Derbyshire 28.01.2015
Esterson, Bill Labour Party Sefton Central 28.01.2015
Farrelly, Paul Labour Party Newcastle-under-Lyme 28.01.2015
Flynn, Paul Labour Party Newport West 21.01.2015
Gapes, Mike Labour Party Ilford South 28.01.2015
Glindon, Mary Labour Party North Tyneside 21.01.2015
Godsiff, Roger Labour Party Birmingham Hall Green 26.01.2015
Hamilton, Fabian Labour Party Leeds North East 21.01.2015
Hancock, Mike INDEPENDENT Portsmouth South 26.01.2015
Harris, Tom Labour Party Glasgow South 28.01.2015
Hendrick, Mark Labour Party Preston 04.02.2015
Hepburn, Stephen Labour Party Jarrow 21.01.2015
Hood, Jim Labour Party Lanark and Hamilton East 28.01.2015
Hopkins, Kelvin Labour Party Luton North 26.01.2015
Howarth, George Labour Party Knowsley 21.01.2015
Jackson, Glenda Labour Party Hampstead and Kilburn 22.01.2015
James, Sian C Labour Party Swansea East 28.01.2015
Jones, Kevan Labour Party North Durham 21.01.2015
Kaufman, Gerald Labour Party Manchester Gorton 04.02.2015
Lammy, David Labour Party Tottenham 21.01.2015
Lavery, Ian Labour Party Wansbeck 22.01.2015
Lazarowicz, Mark Labour Party Edinburgh North and Leith 04.02.2015
Llwyd, Elfyn Plaid Cymru Dwyfor Meirionnydd 29.01.2015
Mahmood, Khalid Labour Party Birmingham Perry Barr 05.02.2015
Mann, John Labour Party Bassetlaw 28.01.2015
McCrea, Dr William Democratic Unionist Party South Antrim 03.02.2015
McDonagh, Siobhain Labour Party Mitcham and Morden 28.01.2015
McDonald, Andy Labour Party Middlesbrough 04.02.2015
McDonnell, John Labour Party Hayes and Harlington 22.01.2015
McGovern, Jim Labour Party Dundee West 04.02.2015
McInnes, Liz Labour Party Heywood and Middleton 22.01.2015
Mearns, Ian Labour Party Gateshead 21.01.2015
Morden, Jessica Labour Party Newport East 21.01.2015
Morrice, Graeme Labour Party Livingston 28.01.2015
Morris, Grahame M Labour Party Easington 21.01.2015
Mudie, George Labour Party Leeds East 21.01.2015
Osborne, Sandra Labour Party Ayr Carrick and Cumnock 28.01.2015
Owen, Albert Labour Party Ynys Môn 21.01.2015
Qureshi, Yasmin Labour Party Bolton South East 21.01.2015
Robertson, John Labour Party Glasgow North West 21.01.2015
Robinson, Geoffrey Labour Party Coventry North West 27.01.2015
Rotheram, Steve Labour Party Liverpool Walton 21.01.2015
Roy, Frank Labour Party Motherwell and Wishaw 28.01.2015
Ruane, Chris Labour Party Vale of Clwyd 21.01.2015
Sharma, Virendra Labour Party Ealing Southall 28.01.2015
Sheerman, Barry Labour Party Huddersfield 21.01.2015
Skinner, Dennis Labour Party Bolsover 21.01.2015
Smith, Nick Labour Party Blaenau Gwent 28.01.2015
Stringer, Graham Labour Party Blackley and Broughton 28.01.2015
Sutcliffe, Gerry Labour Party Bradford South 04.02.2015
Tami, Mark Labour Party Alyn and Deeside 04.02.2015
Vaz, Valerie Labour Party Walsall South 21.01.2015
Walley, Joan Labour Party Stoke-on-Trent North 28.01.2015
Williamson, Chris Labour Party Derby North 04.02.2015
Winnick, David Labour Party Walsall North 21.01.2015
Wright, David Labour Party Telford 21.01.2015